Skip to Content

Mission Statement

The faculty of Communication Studies, Journalism and Film is a community of professionals, educated and experienced in a diverse range of specialty areas, and united by a common body of information related to the creation, application, and understanding of messages. The department exists to provide quality instruction that assists students in becoming intellectually aware citizens who are ethical, competent communicators. Further, the department seeks to maintain and develop the body of scholarly knowledge that unites the field.

Department Chair: Steve Buss
Department Coordinator: Carly Yates
Administrative Support Coordinator I: Katrina Roose

Administrative Support I: Danielle Carmassi
Instructional Support II: Taryn McDonough

Department of Communication Studies:
Mendocino Hall 5014    
California State University Sacramento
6000 J. Street
Sacramento, Ca 95819-6070
Phone: 916-278-6688   FAX: 916-278-7216

COMS Office Hours
Monday: 7:30am -5:00pm
Tuesday: 7:30am -4:45pm
Wednesday: 7:30am -5:00pm
Thursday: 7:30am -5:00pm
Friday: 7:30am -4:30pm

COMS Summer Office Hours
M-F: 7:30am -4:00pm